menu MENU
Lei Ying
(734) 647-4031 4423 EECS1301 Beal AvenueAnn Arbor, MI 48109-2122


  • IEEE Fellow, 2022
  • Best Paper Finalist at MobiHoc 2019
  • Paper Selected for Fast-Track Review for TNSE at IEEE INFOCOM 2018 (7 out of 312 accepted papers were invited)
  • WiOpt’18 Best Student Paper Award
  • ACM TKDD on “Best Papers of KDD 2016”
  • Kenneth C. Sevcik Outstanding Student Paper Award at ACM SIGMETRICS/IFIP Performance 2016
  • Best paper award at IEEE INFOCOM 2015
  • Notable book in Computing Reviews’ 19th Annual Best of Computing (“Communication Networks — An Optimization, Control and Stochastic Networks Perspective”)
  • The Northrop Grumman Assistant Professor (formerly the Litton Industries Assistant Professor) in Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University in 2010-2012
  • CAREER Award from National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2010
  • Young Investigator Award from the Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA) in 2009

Major Awards/Recognition Received by My Students

  • Weina Wang won the 2016 Dean’s Dissertation Award in the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering at Arizona State University
  • Weina Wang received the Joseph A. Barkson Fellowship in 2015 from Arizona State University
  • Shihuan Liu won Research Excellence Award in 2011 at Iowa State University
  • Xiaohan Kang won the 2050 Challenge Graduate Fellowship from Iowa State University in 2010
  • Shan Zhou won a Schafer 2050 Challenge Graduate Fellowship from Iowa State University in 2009